Thankful

I am thankful for the beach. I am thankful for Zoe. I am thankful for my sister and for my mom, and for the time I had with my dad. I am thankful for being just like my father. I am thankful for sweat pants. I am thankful for golden retrievers, Archie in particular. I am thankful for being in love and knowing what that really means. I am thankful for manicures and pedicures and facials. I am thankful for traffic-free highways. I am thankful for the time I spent in Rome. I am thankful for the time I spent in 408, 903, 18E, 10F, and 402. I am thankful for perfect fall weather. I am thankful for sunglasses. I am very thankful for coupons.

I am not thankful for pettiness or cattiness. I am not thankful for people who speak or behave in a condescending manner. I am not thankful for unreliableness or unresponsiveness. I am not thankful for humid days. I am not thankful for hurricanes or blizzards or tornadoes or monsoons. I am not thankful for nail polish chipping. I am not thankful for stress. I am not thankful for being tired.

I am thankful for sleep. I am thankful for doo-wop music. I am thankful for funky art. I am thankful for writing, and this blog. I am thankful for my first real-world job and everything that led me here. I am thankful for earrings and rings. I am thankful for bags and boots. I am thankful for my iTouch. I am thankful for all the golden retrievers I loved before Archie. I am thankful for my hair (80% of the time). I am thankful for honesty, sincerity, and empathy. I am thankful for coffee in all forms (EXCEPT iced!). I am thankful for TV shows that are pure trash. I am thankful for celebrity gossip.

I am not at all thankful for passive-aggressiveness. I am not thankful for car troubles. I am not thankful for potholes. I am not thankful for lying. I am not thankful for not being able to do what I want to do, and for having to do what I don’t want to do. I am not thankful for chapped lips. I am not thankful for stomach aches.

I am thankful for the Italian language. I am thankful for restaurants. I am thankful for wine, wine, wine. I am thankful for orgasms. I am thankful for cover-up. I am thankful for doctors who actually know what they’re doing. I am thankful for relaxation. I am thankful for the people I love, for the people who love me and never hesitate to show it.

Leave a Reply

