Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

Immediately after finishing Mindy Kaling’s book I had a feeling I have not experienced in quite some time: I wished I were not finished with it. I even read the acknowledgements and searched for more text on those blank pages at the end of the book (why DO they do that?) — it was that good.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) was a quick read, and probably made me look absolutely out of my mind to my fellow subway riders via laughing uncontrollably, but it was AWESOME. I think the fact that I have seen (and officially love) her new show on Fox really helped me in that I was able to read it all in her voice, not mine/what I think hers sounds like. I find her voice to be absolutely hilarious, and somewhat a little bit like mine kind of. I could flip back to any page in the book and find something that makes me (and should make others) laugh.

The last time I had felt like that was when I was in ninth grade and I would have to wait after school in the eleventh-graders’ student center for my brother to get his stuff so he could drive us home. I stood there smiling like an idiot, just excited to be in the presence of all these cool older people ‘Stop smiling so much,’ my brother said to me once when he came to get me. ‘You look like a maniac.’

If I ruin something of yours and don’t replace it, you’re allowed to talk sh!t about me to our other friends for one calendar year. That’s it. Then you have to get over it.

I do not think stress is a legitimate topic of conversation, in public anyway. No one ever wants to hear how stressed out anyone else is, because most of the time everyone is stressed out. Going on and on in detail about how stressed out I am isn’t conversation. It’ll never lead anywhere. No one is going to say, ‘Wow, Mindy, you really have it especially bad. I have heard some stories of stress, but this just takes the cake.

See?

I was not aware that Mindy is most known for her role/writing on The Office, although when I saw her show advertised I knew I knew her from somewhere, and I’ve never even watched The Office but I thoroughly enjoyed all the anecdotes about her fellow comedic writers and actors. And I think it’s precious that she and Ellie Kemper are BFF. Fun fact (and not at all a spoiler alert if you, you know, have access to Google): Mindy’s “big break” was a two-man (the “men” being Mindy and her best friend Brenda) play she wrote called “Matt & Ben” — as in Matt Damon and Ben Affleck, but it was completely made up plot/dialogue that had nothing to do with Matt’s or Ben’s actual life. I wish I could’ve seen it!

On a non-Hollywood note, every single female I know can identify with Mindy in one way or another. Whether it’s her take on how to be a best friend, the difference between boys and men, getting dressed to go out or other not-so-superficial topics, what she says just clicks, like “YES I think/do/say that too!” I pray she writes another book soon, but in the meantime I am now tempted to also read Tina Fey’s Bossypants.

So not only do I extremely highly 100% definitely completely recommend this book, I also recommend watching The Mindy Project every Tuesday night on Fox at 9:30/8:30 central. You don’t need to watch all episodes to date if you’re too lazy to catch up, but you MUST watch the second episode “In The Club” as that is the one that secured my eternal affection for this refreshingly hilarious woman.

Next up: Lucia Lucia by Adriana Trigiani, a brand new author for me. The front/back covers makes me think it’s the exact type of chick lit I always read just set 60 years ago, so it’s not quite “out of my comfort zone”, but you know what they say about judging books by covers…(Sorry, had to.)

6 thoughts on “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

Leave a Reply

