2013 Oscar Predictions

It’s finally here. The Super Bowl of the movie world. The Final Four of the silver screen. The 85th Annual Academy Awards, known by those of us in the ‘biz as the Oscars! Let me just express my excitement for this event by saying weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Oscars

I wasn’t too far off with my Golden Globes predictions, and I have actual money riding on these, so away we go! (I obviously cannot include every single category because then you won’t read the whole post.)

Best Supporting Actress

And the nominees are: Amy Adams in The Master, Anne Hathaway in Les Miserables, Helen Hunt in The Sessions, Jacki Weaver in Silver Linings Playbook

Who I think should win: Anne Hathaway, DUH.

Who will probably win: Anne Hathaway, DUH.

Best Supporting Actor

And the nominees are: Alan Arkin in Argo, Christoph Waltz in Django Unchained, Phillip Seymour Hoffman in The Master, Robert De Niro in Silver Linings Playbook, Tommy Lee Jones in Lincoln

Who I think should win: Alan Arkin. He was REALLY funny, you guys!

Who will probably win: Christoph Waltz, because he won the GG and everyone is all about that Lincoln business. Hey, wasn’t it his birthday recently!?

Best Actress

And the nominees are: Emmanuelle Riva in Amour, Jennifer Lawrence in Silver Linings Playbook, Jessica Chastain in Zero Dark Thirty, Naomi Watts in The Impossible, Quvenzhane Wallis in Beasts of the Southern Wild

Who I think should win: Jessica Chastain, but please God let her be wearing a better dress than that blue monstrosity. (I am actually quite curious about The Impossible, though).

Who will probably win: Jessica Chastain. She really blew everyone’s socks off as a tortured CIA genius.

Best Actor

And the nominees are: Bradley Cooper in Silver Linings Playbook, Daniel Day-Lewis in Lincoln, Denzel Washington in Flight, Hugh Jackman in Les Miserables, Joaquin Phoenix in The Master

Who I think should win: Here’s the thing. I LOVE Hugh Jackman in every way shape and form. I think he dazzled in Les Mis, and I would be tickled if he won. But…I am going with Denzel on this one. I mean, he’s Denzel!

Who will probably win: Daniel Day-Lewis. No one else even has a shot.

Best Director

And the nominees are: Ang Lee for Life of Pi, Benh Zeitlin for Beasts of the Southern Wild, David O. Russell for Silver Linings Playbook, Michael Haneke for Amour, Steven Spielberg for Lincoln

Who I think should win: Ben Affleck for Argo. F you, Academy! (Just kidding just kidding please invite me to the 86th annual awards please oh please thanks so much!)

Who will probably win: Spielberg.

Best Original Screenplay

And the nominees are: Amour, Django Unchained, Flight, Moonrise Kingdom, Zero Dark Thirty

Who I think should win: Seeing as how I only saw one of these, I’ll go with that one: ZDT all the way.

Who will probably win: Zero Dark Thirty. It was so well conceptualized and executed.

Best Adapted Screenplay

And the nominees are: Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook

Who I think should win: What is this Beasts of the Southern Wild business, anyway? Argof*ck yourself.

Who will probably win: Argo, so Ben can keep on stickin’ it.

Best Original Song

And the nominees are: “Before My Time” from Chasing Ice, “Everybody Needs A Best Friend” from Ted, “Pi’s Lullaby” from Life of Pi, “Skyfall” from Skyfall, “Suddenly” from Les Mis

Who I think should win: “Suddenly”! I didn’t even realize it was a new song, it fit so well into the original music. (Also, Ted? Seriously?)

Who will probably win: “Skyfall”. I can’t wait to see what Adele wears. They still do that thing where all nominated songs are performed, right?!

Best Cinematography

And the nominees are: Anna Karenina, Django Unchained, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Skyfall

Who I think should win: I think I have been using the wrong definition of this word, because I was under the impression that Zero Dark Thirty had excellent cinematography so if it did it obviously would have been nominated in this category. So I just don’t know what’s right and what’s wrong anymore.

Who will probably win: Anna Karenina. Boy do I hate Keira Knightley, but I heard this movie was gawgeous.

Best Visual Effects

And the nominees are: The Avengers, The Hobbit, Life of Pi, Prometheus, Snow White and the Huntsman

Who I think should win: Quite an assortment here eh? While I quite enjoyed The Avengers, I am going with The Hobbit.

Who will probably win: The Hobbit. Those Lord of the Rings people need to start taking over these award shows again.

Best Picture

And the nominees are: Amour, Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty

Who I think should win: Ugh, I HATE this new ten-films-nominated thing. It’s like, “Let’s just nominate all the halfway-decent moves from this year because we are soooo lazy and boring” (just kidding just kidding please invite me to the 86th annual awards please oh please thanks so much!). I know Argo won the GG in this category, and it would make me happy if they won again, but nothing will make me scream and clap louder than if Les Mis won.

Who will probably win: Zero Dark Thirty. That seems the most Academy-like thing to do, know what I’m saying?

So let’s hope I win this Oscar pool — a whopping $80, last I checked — and stay tuned for the usual Fashion Police critique the day after the show!

One thought on “2013 Oscar Predictions

Leave a Reply

