2014 Oscar Predictions

I had a good time doing this last year, so once again I am sharing my thoughts on who I think should/will win one of this year’s 86th Annual Academy Awards.

Best Supporting Actress

The nominees are:

  • Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
  • Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
  • June Squibb, Nebraska
  • Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave
  • Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

And the Oscar goes to: Lupita Nyong’o. I would love to see Jennifer Lawrence win because a) I adore her and b) I think she was phenomenal as the disgruntled Long Island wife of a con artist. I would also love to see Julia Roberts win because she is Julia Roberts, but both of them have already won Best Actress, Lawrence as recently as last year. Lupita deserves her turn in the spotlight, if only for the fact that she has been dressing for the red carpet so well so far. Also, what IS this Nebraska movie?

Best Supporting Actor

The nominees are: 

  • Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
  • Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
  • Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

And the Oscar goes to: I’m pretty torn here. Michael Fassbender is delicious, but I haven’t seen his movie. I just hope he’s just in attendance that night, sans beard. Jonah Hill is out-of-this-world good in Wolf of Wall Street so he could take it, but I think it will/should really go to Jared Leto. First of all, he’s Jordan Catalano. Second of all, he won the Golden Globe AND the SAG award. Third of all, HE’S JORDAN CATALANO!

Best Actress

The nominees are:

  • Amy Adams, American Hustle
  • Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
  • Judi Dench, Philomena
  • Meryl Streep, August: Osage County
  • Sandra Bullock, Gravity

And the Oscar goes to: Not Amy Adams, she wasn’t that good in American Hustle. Her hair and wardrobe were, but not her acting. I actually don’t even think she should be nominated. Judi Dench doesn’t really need an Oscar — she is already a Dame after all — but I do want to see her movie. Both Meryl Streep and Sandra Bullock won Best Actress pretty recently, so they’re all set. Cate Blanchett is truly incredible in Blue Jasmine and she too already won the Globe and the SAG, so the Oscar is likely. I can’t wait to see what she wears!

Best Actor

The nominees are:

  • Bruce Dern, Nebraska
  • Christian Bale, American Hustle
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years A Slave

And the Oscar goes to: When I saw American Hustle, I was sure Christian Bale would win Best Actor. Then when I saw The Wolf of Wall Street, I was sure Leo would finally win after years of torturous dissing by the Academy, and I still think he could. But the response to Dallas Buyers Club has been crazy, and watching True Detective has made me (and I’m sure others) respect McConaughey so much more, ergo he could take it as well. Both he and Leo won the Golden Globe (one for drama, one for “musical or comedy”), and by golly I wish they could both win the Oscar too.

Best Picture

The nominees are:

  • 12 Years A Slave
  • American Hustle
  • Captain Phillips
  • Dallas Buyers Club
  • Gravity
  • Her
  • Nebraska
  • Philomena
  • The Wolf of Wall Street

And the Oscar goes to: OK, so we upped the number of best picture nominees from 5 (like EVERY OTHER CATEGORY) to 10, which is extremely annoying in and of itself, but this year there are only 9? BullSH!T Academy, bullSH!T. I feel like there have been a lot of upsets in this category in recent years. so it’s anyone’s game really. I hope it’s The Wolf of Wall Street or American Hustle, but I can see Dallas Buyers Club winning.

Other Awards I Sort Of Care About: 

  • Cinematography: Inside Llewyn Davis. Why not?
  • Costume Design: American Hustle. Seriously, the outfits were out of this world.
  • Directing: Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street. DUH.
  • Original Song: “Let It Go”, Frozen. Because it’s been in my head since I saw the movie at the end of November.
2 thoughts on “2014 Oscar Predictions

Leave a Reply

