2015 Oscar Predictions

I was horrendously wrong on most of my predictions last year, but will I still do it again this year? Indeed!

But first, check out this vintage Oscars photo of pure perfection I found on Elle.com:

March 21, 1956<br />

Best Supporting Actress

The nominees are:

  • Emma Stone, Birdman
  • Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
  • Laura Dern, Wild
  • Meryl Streep, Into the Woods
  • Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

And the Oscar goes to: Patricia Arquette for the trifecta of Golden Globe, SAG and Oscar! On a side note, I don’t think I’ll ever actually watch Boyhood. For some reason I am very irritated that it took 12 years to make one movie, it seems extremely inefficient. On another side note, I hope she wears something better than usual on Sunday since she probably knows she is probably going to win.

Best Supporting Actor

And the nominees are:

  • Edward Norton, Birdman
  • Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
  • J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
  • Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
  • Robert Duvall, The Judge

And the Oscar goes to: Having seen none of these films, I will once again bet on the trifecta (J.K. Simmons). However, I am uncomfortable with him winning because he will never not be Schillinger, by whom I am scarred for life. I also think the Academy always has some surprises up its sleeves, such as Robert Duvall winning this category.

Best Actress

The nominees are:

  • Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
  • Julianne Moore, Still Alice
  • Marion Cotillard, Two Days One Night
  • Reese Witherspoon, Wild
  • Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

And the Oscar goes to: Oh how I wish Reese would win, but alas, she will not. (I am super-excited to watch Wild now that I have the Oscar screeners, though — that’s right! More perks of the fiance’s job!) I also sort of wish Felicity Jones would win because I loved The Theory of Everything, but Julianne Moore will probably win again. This is fine with me, although I just learned that her movie is about Alzheimer’s and I will therefore never watch it. (One of my biggest fears, thank you Ellis Grey.)

Best Actor

The nominees are:

And the Oscar goes to: Not only will Bradley Cooper not win, but he will continue to star in Oscar-nominated films for the rest of his career (with some goofy rom-coms now and then to “keep it real”), earn a few more nominations but never win, à la Leonardo DiCaprio. You heard it here first. Everyone thinks Michael Keaton will win this, but I’m going with Eddie Redmayne. He was truly unbelievable as Stephen Hawking, and both won Golden Globes, so it could go either way.

Best Picture

The nominees are:

And the Oscar goes to: I continue to argue that the Academy should go back to having only five films in this category, LIKE EVERY OTHER CATEGORY. If Selma were nominated for more awards, I would go with that. I don’t think American Sniper will win — a lot of people will pretty mad at it, apparently — nor do I think The Imitation Game or The Grand Budapest Hotel will, as they haven’t won much so far this year. I haven’t a clue what Whiplash is, I wouldn’t be surprised if Birdman or Boyhood won, but I really want The Theory of Everything to win. So sue me!

Other Awards I Sort of Care About

Leave a Reply

