Logan

It appears as though I have cut in half the number of movies I see per year, and that makes me a little sad. It’s just so darn EXPENSIVE to see them in the city, and you can usually “rent” them on Amazon while they’re still in theaters for half the price from the comfort of your own couch. But going to the movies used to be FUN, dammit!

I digress. I saw Logan, and it was really good, but REALLY sad. (I suppose I should have prepared myself for the sadness after hearing all the “this is the last time Hugh Jackman will play Wolverine” nonsense, but I didn’t.) It was sad that Wolverine was losing his ability to heal, it was sad that Charles Xavier was rotting away from Alzheimer’s, and ***SPOILER ALERT*** it was the MOST sad that both of them DIED! It’s not just because I don’t like when main characters die, it’s because THERE ARE STILL SO MANY MOVIES THEY NEED TO MAKE and movies I know they WILL make, so why all the killing here?

Also, I didn’t feel that emotionally invested in the little Wolverine girl being his daughter because the connection didn’t seem that strong to me. It would have been cool if they made it his daughter with Jean Grey, somehow, but they made her from his DNA? Meh. I also did not like her whispering “Daddy” a few times as he was dying, because it felt like a really cheap shot at people like me. It would have been way more powerful if she stayed silent throughout the ENTIRE film, and maybe said ONE word at the end, but not “Daddy”.

Lastly, I didn’t like that there were no other X-Men in the movie besides Charles Xavier. I like the idea of the new generation of mutants, but these movies are more fun when there are clear ties to other characters and story lines throughout the comic book universe.

Well, I sound like I really hated this movie, but I didn’t. I just don’t like seeing Hugh Jackman in pain.

Leave a Reply

